Tired of getting rejected on LinkedIn? Check out these tips.

LinkedIn is a great platform for networking, but there’s always a chance of being rejected by those who you request to connect with. Maybe the person wasn’t notified or hasn’t had time to log into LinkedIn or just maybe the person wasn’t sure they wanted to connect with you (and you thought Facebook was dramatic).

Joshua Steimle offers some tips on “how to reach out the right way and make sure your next LinkedIn connection request is accepted”.

  1. Complete your LinkedIn profile. Make sure you provide details, have more endorsements than from just one person, and include a good photo.
  2. Use proper spelling, punctuation, and capitalization. This is pretty self-explanatory.
  3. Customize your request message. This is Steimle’s #1 tip. Only use the default message when you’ve already communicated with the person and you’re positive that they know who you are.
  4. Connect, don’t sell. Don’t try to sell something in your connection request.
  5. Get my name right. Once again, pretty self-explanatory.
  6. Don’t put important requests within your connection request. The information may get lost – save it for a LinkedIn message or email.

Image

These are great suggestions that I will incorporate into my criteria for deciding whether or not to accept LinkedIn connection requests. What are your criteria for accepting or rejecting connection requests?

2 thoughts on “Tired of getting rejected on LinkedIn? Check out these tips.

  1. Lauren,

    I just recently created a profile on LinkedIn, and have been mulling over a wide variety of suggestions from family, friends, academic professionals, and former work associates with regard to what content is important to supply on my profile. After reading through your post I unmistakeably am still at Step 1!

    I’d like to think my criteria for accepting a connection is simple, however having not yet been able to do this on LInkedIn, it is hard to accurately describe an experience I do not have yet. However, with regard to other sites, I think it all boils down to a positive experience with that individual. One positive experience generally leads to another positive experience or exchange. I have however found it questionable sometimes the motivations of people I do not know at all to send a request – It almost seems quantity motivated, and with quick double check its easy to confirm. Another unfortunate occurrence I have had is avoiding the overly progressive or conservative, politically-motivated individual that continually posts politically-divisive content, ultimately followers have to pick a side if they want to have a conversation with people like this online – and given I like to keep my business and politics as personal as possible I tend to avoid such individuals.

    It certainly is a case by case basis assessing connection requests, however my hope in establishing a LinkedIn profile is that I can avoid the drama often associated with other social media sties and keep things strictly professional.

    Like

  2. Personally, I will always check to see what connections, if any, I have in common with the person who sent me the request. If we have no shared connections, is that person in the same line of business I am in? Just yesterday I had a random request from someone with no photo and who is using a personal profile to rent (or attempt to rent) condos in Myrtle Beach. That’s not someone I want viewing my contact information.

    Like

Leave a comment